Lancashire Churches

St. Bartholomew’s Church in Colne

A medieval church at the summit of an industrial East Lancashire town. The church of St Bartholomew, Colne, sits at the summit of the hill on which the town is built, at a height of 623 feet above sea level. It is not aligned precisely east-west...

St. Mary’s Church in Hambleton

An early C19 church with striking additions of 1973. Hanging in St Mary’s, Hambleton, is a painting of the church as it looked before the remarkable building programme of 1973. It shows a modest early C19 church of four window bays separated...

Christ’s Church in Glasson

A characteristic 1840 church by the Lancaster architect, Edmund Sharpe. Christ Church, Glasson, sits by the towpath of a branch of the Lancaster Canal, a stone’s throw from Glasson Dock. It serves a settlement that began life in the late C18...

St John’s the Divine Church in Lytham

Shellard’s elegant broach spire is a feature of the Lytham seafront. There are many English churches whose visual contribution to their location far outweighs their architectural merits. Such is the case with St John the Divine, Lytham. This...

St. Mary & St. John Baptist’s Church in Pleasington

A church of 1816-19 by the Manchester architect John Palmer. The foundation stone of the Roman Catholic church of St Mary & St John the Baptist Pleasington, also known as Pleasington Priory, was laid on June 6th 1816. On the 24th August 1819 the...

lancashire-map Welcome! This website looks at a selection of churches of architectural and historic interest. They are representative of the county and, in the main, are not the more obvious choices.
Yet Lancashire is also a place of hills, plains and coast, of ancient villages and market towns. Like most counties' churches, those in Lancashire span all the periods of architectural development, from Saxon times to the present day. And, whilst it is true that some periods are better represented than others, the enthusiast in Lancashire can find local gems and national treasures throughout the county.
The modern county of Lancashire was devised by the local government reorganisation of 1974. "Historic Lancashire" or "Real Lancashire" has existed since the twelfth century and covers a considerably larger area. Lancashire stretches from the Coniston and Windermere areas of the Lake District, down to the Furness peninsula and Walney Island, across the sands of Morecambe Bay to the Lune valley, through Bowland, the Fylde, the western Pennines, and south to the areas around Southport, Liverpool, Manchester and Warrington.
The aim of the website is to foster a better understanding of what Lancashire has to offer, and to help to stimulate an interest in the study of church architecture generally.

What age you are interested in?

What district are you looking for?

Have a look at latest publications